
FIRING SQUAD 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS & ERRATA 
 
WEAPON RACK ERRATA: 
p. 11: Kami are renamed Kama 
p. 13: Horizon Flynn Pilum’s Collapsed staff has DV 3P and has no independent Availability or Cost 
p. 13: Cougar Weapons ‘Longtooth’ Collapsible Staff/Spear’s detached Knife has DV 2P 
p. 16: Colt Secret Agent has ammo 6(cy) 
p. 27: Ultimax ‘83 gains Melee Hardening 
p. 31: Ares Arms Vigorous’ Near AR is changed from 19 to 9. 
p. 32: Scylla’s DV is 7S(e) 
p. 40: Iron Hawk Collapsible Bow’s AR stats are (Rating/2) +1/ (Rating +2)/ (Rating /3)/ (Rating/4)/— 
p. 40: Iron Hawk Collapsible Bow’s Availability is 4(L) 

 

WEAPON RACK FAQ: 
CAN YOU USE CLOSE COMBAT WITH ANY OF THE EXOTIC WEAPONS LISTED ON PAGES 
14 AND 15? 
 Some of the weapons are very similar to non-exotic close combat weapons and can therefore be employed via the Close 
Combat skill. When doing so, however, they lose some of their special functionality. When using the following exotic weapons 
with the Close Combat skill: 
 
Bates-Brown Combat Boots:   Use your regular unarmed Attack Rating (Strength + Reaction) 
Tonfa:     Functions as a standard club (p. 248, SR6), losing the knockdown action 
Urban Tribe Tomahawk Mk II: Functions as a standard knife (p. 247, SR6), suffering a loss in AR 
Xiphos Tactical Gladius  Functions as a standard sword (p. 248, SR6), suffering a loss in AR 
 
The Ash Arms Combat Chainsaws and Manriki Chain cannot default to Close Combat; they must be employed via Exotic 
Weapons. 
 
P. 15, DOES THE MANRIKI CHAIN REALLY HAVE A 50 METER REACH? 

No. The chain is long enough to reach beyond the standard 3 meters for Close range, but it’s not that long! In this 
weapon’s case the Near range should not extend beyond double the user’s Close range. 
 
P. 16, IS THERE ANY BENEFIT TO COLLAPSING A COLLAPSIBLE CROSSBOW? 
 While collapsed, the weapon’s concealability threshold (p. 246, SR6) is increased by 1. 

 
SUIT UP FAQ: 
P. 48, HOW DOES THE 12/8 (OR 10) CAPACITY WORK FOR MEMS HARNESS? 
 The MEMS harness has a total capacity of 20. The breakdown for the system is 12/8, which is the number for the front 
capacity (12) and back (8). Integrating a MEMS harness into your armor consumes 10 capacity, but you can instead wear the 
harness over your armor. If you do so, you lose access to any gear integrated into that armor’s capacity, and you always grant 
Edge to your attackers due to the awkward fit constricting your movements. 
 
P. 52, DO THE COLOR-SHIFTING ABILITIES MENTIONED FOR SLEEPING TIGER ARMOR 
COUNT AS RUTHENIUM ARMOR CONCEALMENT SYSTEM? 
 No.  It counts as electrochromic features (p. 265, SR6) that consume no capacity. 
 



PP. 53-54, HOW EXACTLY DOES GELWEAVE ARMOR WORK? IF YOU HAVE RATING 1 
GELWEAVE, IS THERE NO STIFFENING EFFECT? 

GelWeave reduces the DV of an incoming attack or indirect combat spell by its rating.  The Agility and Reaction 
penalty is equal to this DV reduction, minus 1. So the first time you are hit while wearing rating 1 GelWeave, there is no penalty 
from stiffening up.  However, once you are hit hard enough for GelWeave to reduce at least 1 DV, there is a “memory” that lasts 
for the next three rounds. The penalty to Agility and Reaction is measured across all DV reductions for three rounds. Therefore, 
on round 1, a 1 point DV reduction results in no penalty (1–1=0).  However, if hit again before three rounds elapse, 2 instances of 
1 DV reduction results in –1 to Agility and Reaction (1+1–1=1) and a new three round “memory” is restarted, incorporating all 
prior hits as well. GelWeave must go for three whole rounds without reducing damage before the cumulative Agility and 
Reaction penalties reset. 
 
P. 54, DOES TOUGHWEAVE APPLY 1 WILD DIE PER LEVEL, OR JUST 1 WILD DIE 
TOTAL? 
 No matter the rating of Toughweave, you only use 1 Wild Die. 
 
P. 55, WHY IS THE AVAILABILITY FOR REACTIVE PLATES SO HIGH? 
 The 9(I) Availability reflects Seattle’s particular environment where for whatever reason, they’re hyper-focused on 
keeping that particular tech off the streets coupled with high demand in a seller’s market. There is good news, however! The 
gamemaster can freely reassign Availability ratings based on the needs of their own campaign.  In addition, capable armorers can 
bake their own disposable plates that function every bit as good as a corp-manufactured inserts. This requires an Engineering 
(Armorer) + Logic (9, 3 hours) extended test that requires the use of a shop (p. 273, SR6) and 2,500 nuyen worth of materials per 
plate produced. 
 

 
CUSTOMIZING WEAPONS FAQ: 
   

P. 55-56, CAN I USE A BUNCH OF WEAPON COMMLINKS TO BOOST MY PAN’S 
FIREWALL? 
 No. A Weapon Commlink only adds to the PAN’s Firewall when the protected device itself is a specific target. 
 
P. 57, HOW MANY MODIFICATION SLOTS DO BOWS AND CROSSBOWS HAVE? 
 They all have 2 modification slots. 
 
P. 59, WHAT IS THE COST FOR APPLYING DIKOTE TO AMMUNITION? 

The listed cost of 225 nuyen provides enough material to modify 1 batch of ammo.  So: 10 bullets, 1 throwing knife, 
etc. 
 
P. 73, HOW DOES A QUICK-DRAW QUIVER’S WIRELESS BONUS WORK? 
 There is no action required to select which specific arrow is fed to the archer; this allows the archer to grab any given 
arrow without difficulty from a quiver full of different kinds of arrows. The Minor Action to “select the preferred arrow” is the 
same Minor Action required to ready the bow (p. 250, SR6). 
 
HONING YOUR EDGE ERRATA: 
p. 89: Suppressive fire is rewritten as follows: 
Suppressive Fire  
Threshold: 2, w/ special rules  
 
Suppressive Fire requires a minor action to be spent along with the Attack action. Unlike other SUT maneuvers, Suppressive Fire 
expires at the beginning of a shooter’s next turn. The hits on the SUT test establish how many Full Auto attacks (p. 109, SR6) this 
maneuver may generate. These FA areas may not be expanded in size or overlapped, and they must touch at least one other area. 
Any targets inside a FA area as it is placed have the opportunity to drop prone as an anytime action; doing so exempts them from 



that Full Attack. If any target emerges from Cover IV or moves within an area, they are automatically struck by the base DV of 
the weapon used to perform Suppressive Fire. 

 
HONING YOUR EDGE FAQ: 
FAQ ITEM: P. 86 HOW LONG DO SMALL UNIT TACTICS MANEUVERS LAST? 
 Once a maneuver has been successfully begun, it remains in effect as long as the participants maintain it. They can 
enter a formation before combat begins, and then potentially use it for an entire encounter or switch to a new one. For example, a 
team can employ Creeping Barrage (p. 87) and the bonuses last so long as at least one participant is firing a required weapon each 
turn to cover the teammates’ movement. 
 
P. 90 CAN I ADD OR WITHDRAW EDGE FROM AN M-TOC WHEN IT IS NOT MY TURN? 
 Yes. It is an (A) Minor Action to move Edge to or from an M-TOC. 
 
P. 90 HOW DOES ARTILLERY BARRAGE WORK? 
 The “weapon related penalties” that Artillery Barrage cancels refer only to penalties involved in drawing LOS to a 
potential target in Cover # (p. 52, SR6) or defilade. In order to lob bullets and rockets down on a target “like artillery” rather than 
directly right at them, the target must be outdoors and at far or extreme range. This type of attack will then ignore Cover # status 
unless coming from a barrier directly over the target.  This tac-app requires use of either the Target Assist tac-app (p. 91) or a 
similar effect, such as Paint Target (p. 31, Hack & Slash). 
 
P. 91 IS THERE ANY BENEFIT TO USING THE CO-PILOT OR DOOR GUNNER TAC-APPS? 
 Since these benefits generally already exist by default simply by being part of a general team PAN, these tac-apps also 
grant the user a point of Edge when performing the piloting and gunnery, respectively.  Note that this bonus for Co-Pilot only 
applies when using the Remote Control tier (see Shadowrun, Sixth World FAQ) and the Door Gunner tac-app still requires the 
shooter to use Engineering (Gunnery) + Logic to fire the weapon, despite the text suggesting it is “as if the weapon were in your 
hands.” 
 

SHARP COMBAT ERRATA: 
p. 93: Called Shot: Break Weapon is rewritten as follows: 
 
Called Shot—Break Weapon 
(Any Attack) 
If you can’t disarm your opponent, or you just want to show off, you can direct your attack against your opponent’s weapon to 
disable it. Make a ranged or melee attack against the target as normal, but designate a weapon of your choice that the target is 
employing to suffer this attack. If the weapon is an active weapon focus, add its Force to the defender’s defense test. If targeting a 
grenade, launcher, or other weapon capable of delivering a blast attack this Edge action permits the Attack action out-of-turn as if 
it were an (A) action. If the attack is successful, the weapon is broken and cannot be used as anything other than a blunt object 
until repaired. It requires an Engineering (Armorer) + Logic (DV + net hits, 1 hour) extended test to repair the weapon. Cost: 5 
Edge 
 
p. 93: Called Shot: Incapacitate is renamed Called Shot—Dazed and costs 3 Edge. 
p. 95: Playing Possum uses Con skill instead of Influence. 

 
SHARP COMBAT FAQ: 
P. 95, HOW EXACTLY DOES PROTECT THE PRINCIPAL WORK? 
 This Edge action does not require you to perform an Intercept action (p. 41, SR6); it is only similar to that action in 
theme. When you perform this action, you may perform a Move action (p. 42, SR6) as an out-of-turn (I) action if necessary to 
position yourself in harm’s way. 
 
P. 95, HOW EXACTLY DOES RIGHT BACK AT YA! WORK? 

This Edge action sets aside the result on the scatter roll, temporarily setting yourself at the center of Ground Zero 
instead. You do not need to spend any additional actions to attempt to pick up or catch the explosive; that is considered part of 
the (A) Major action spent along with the Edge to activate this action. If you fail to meet the threshold on picking up the 



explosive, it goes off immediately.  If you succeed, add your net hits to the original scatter result and move the center of Ground 
Zero directly towards the source of the attack by this combined distance.  The original attacker or a nearby ally may then attempt 
Right Back At Ya!, raising the threshold to pick up the explosive by 1 for each successive stage of hot potato, until someone fails 
to pick it up or cannot spend the resources to pass it back yet again. 
 

HONING YOUR EDGE ERRATA: 
P. 104: Flying Kick glitch inflicts the Off-Balance status (p. 106) 
p. 105: Rolling Clouds is a Mobility martial arts technique 
 

HONING YOUR EDGE FAQ: 
P. 103, WHAT IS THE SIDEBAR ON CALLED SHOTS TALKING ABOUT? 
 It is referring to pages in Shadowrun, Sixth World. It establishes that the effects of Called Shot—Disarm and Called 
Shot—Vitals Edge actions may be chosen as an alternate benefit from spending the Call a Shot (I) minor action (p. 41, SR6). If 
you do this, the called shot does not count as an Edge expenditure and you retain the ability to do other expenditures like rerolling 
failures.  Does this mean you may as well never take the listed benefit of +2DV for Call a Shot, since you could choose the 
Called Shot—Vitals benefit of +3DV instead?  Yes. Enjoy! 
  Additionally, this option also applies to the Called Shot—Break Weapon and Called Shot—Dazed actions described 
on page 93 of this volume. 
 
P. 103, DOES BALLESTRA REDUCE THE COST OF SHANK TO 0? 
 Yes. This is an exception to the general rule that Edge actions cannot have their cost reduced to 0. Note that even 
though the cost is 0, it still counts as an expenditure of Edge, so other expenditures like rerolling failures is still not an option 
when you use Ballestra. 
 
P. 105, DOES NEIJIA ALLOW YOUR UNARMED ATTACK TO BYPASS IMMUNITY TO 
NORMAL WEAPONS? 
 Yes.  Note that the damage will not use any weapon DVs nor benefit from DV modifications such as Precise Strikes, 
however. 
 
P. 105, DOES STRIKING THE DARKNESS COUNT AS “BLIND FIGHTING”? 
 Firstly, see the Shadowrun, Sixth World FAQ entry on the penalties involved in attacking targets you cannot see. With 
those clarifications in mind, the gamemaster absolutely should consider this technique a mitigating circumstance in the martial 
artist’s favor. 
 
FIGHTING FORCES ERRATA: 
p. 139: All that armor slows down Wolverine Security just like anyone else.  Correct Move is 8/11/+1 
p. 145: Ancients Racer has I/ID 14/1 
p. 147: Halloweeners Molotov stat line for "Molotov cocktail" also applies Burning 3 status. 
 
p. 149: First Nations Traditionalist on p.149, the stat line for the Iron Hawk bow should be: 
 
rEVOlution Iron Hawk bow (Rating 5) [Bow, DV 3P, SS, 4/7/2/2/—, w/ wild die] 
 
 


